Fleeting Thoughts


10 minutes; for woodwind quintet.

A challenging modern work for woodwind quintet, this subtle composition explores a coming together into unity from total separateness. The piece begins in a sparse pointillistic style that gradually forms a cohesive whole over the three movements, while maintaining a hauntingly beautiful character throughout.

I. Ephemeral

II. Transient

III. Volatile

Premiered in 2014 by students of California State University, Sacramento.

© 2016–2021  Zachary M. Watkins (BMI). All rights reserved.